2014: The best cycling year ever

WARNING: PHOTO HEAVY SENTIMENTAL POST AHEAD. 

Lately it has been sinking in just how good 2014 was for me in regards to cycling. I accomplished some goals for sure, but I am most reminded of the new places explored, the new friends I made, the existing friends that I grew closer to, the intense suffering we shared, as well as the beers and laughs.

I am not going to recap all of the things that happened, but I am going to post some of my favorite photos and memories from last year. Thank you for sharing miles and smiles with me in 2014, and if you didn’t, hopefully I’ll run into you during a ride in 2015.

But really, I can not believe all of this happened in one single year.

Topanga Creek bicycles: In Janurary I spent a week  just outside L.A. in the mountains with our good friends at Topanga Creek Bicycles. Chris and the locals showed me some awesome riding, food, and people.

Topanga Creek bicycles: In Janurary I spent a week just outside L.A. in the mountains with our good friends at Topanga Creek Bicycles. Chris and the locals showed me some awesome riding, food, and people.

Topanga:

Topanga: Chris and I drove a few hours up a mountain to Idyllwild, where we visited The Hub cyclery, and went off roading in the hummer. Chris handed me the wheel off roading back down the mountain, and I was freaked. it was awesome.

Topanga: Chris and Rover, excellent hosts and companions.

Topanga: Chris and Rover, excellent hosts and companions.

 

Grumpy Grind was a fun, rainy day in Milledgeville IL. Next one is this Sunday, see you there.  http://www.grumpygrind.com/

Grumpy Grind was a fun, rainy day in Milledgeville IL. Next one is this Sunday, see you there.
http://www.grumpygrind.com/

Grumpy Grind: Camped out in this barn the night before. Pretty sure there was a tornado, and a giant dog smelling us the entire night. W/Bailey.

Grumpy Grind: Camped out in this barn the night before. Pretty sure there was a tornado, and a giant dog smelling us the entire night. This was the first occasion I spent a good amount of time with Bailey, and I liked it.

Trans Iowa, the paradoxical best and worst thing ever. The depth of the lows just make the highs even higher.

Trans Iowa, the paradoxical best and worst thing ever. The depth of the lows just make the highs even higher.

I spent 24 hours with these gentlemen. Dave and Jerry are great guys.

I spent 24 hours with these gentlemen. Dave and Jerry are great guys.

Trans-Iowa: The blackness of a cold Trans-Iowa thunderstorm  24 hours in is crushing.

Trans-Iowa: The blackness of a cold Trans-Iowa thunderstorm 24 hours in is crushing.

 Matthiessen Mountain Madness: Getting that wet single speed racing in.

Matthiessen Mountain Madness: Getting that wet single speed racing in.

Dirty Kanza 200: This was my first year riding the event on a Single Speed, and it was very enjoyable.

Dirty Kanza 200: This was my first year riding the event on a Single Speed, and it was very enjoyable.

Dirty Kanza 200: I spent the last 110 miles to the finish with John Welsh, another single speed rider. I had met him at Trans-Iowa in 2013, and always look forward to riding with him. He is a really great guy.

Dirty Kanza 200:
I spent the last 110 miles to the finish with John Welsh, another single speed rider. I had met him at Trans-Iowa in 2013, and always look forward to riding with him. He is a really great guy.

Chequamegon 100: My first 100 mile race mountain bike on a single speed. I rode all day with Christopher Jensen, who I spent so many great summer weekends with. I wish I had more pics of the day, but I lost my nice camera during this race. This photo was taken by another friend and camera ninja, Craig Smith.

Chequamegon 100: My first 100 mile mountain bike race on a single speed. I rode all day with Christopher Jensen, who I spent so many great summer weekends with. I wish I had more pics of the day, but I lost my nice camera during this race. This photo was taken by another friend and camera ninja, Craig Smith.

Ten Thousand Recon: These dues went out to proof read the Ten Thousand course with me. Such a fun day.

Ten Thousand Recon: These dues went out to proof read the Ten Thousand course with me. Such a fun day.

Ten Thousand Recon: Looking back over Morseville road.

Ten Thousand Recon: Looking back over Morseville road.

Ten Thousand Recon: Apple River Canyon river soak.

Ten Thousand Recon: Apple River Canyon river soak.

10434193_661893425315_2849721932380808363_n

Ten Thousand Event Day: I did not ride the event I organized, but getting that many people out to explore those roads was a highlight of the year for me.

Ten Thousand Event Day: I did not ride the event I organized, but getting that many people out to explore those roads was a highlight of the year for me.

Driftless ride: Super fun day with friends Peter, Jon, and a really happy dog that chased us for many miles.

Driftless ride: Super fun day with friends Peter, Jon, and a really happy dog that chased us for many miles.

Driftless ride: The driftless is packed full of secret spots everywhere. If you have never been, come out on a ride with us sometime.

Driftless ride: The driftless is packed full of secret spots everywhere. If you have never been, come out on a ride with us sometime.

Single Speed USA: Copper Harbor is nuts. This was probably the best long weekend all year. We suffered climbing big hills for 4-5 hours each day, and relaxed harder each night. I love these guys.

Single Speed USA: Copper Harbor is nuts. This was probably the best long weekend all year. We suffered climbing big hills for 4-5 hours each day, and relaxed harder each night. I love these guys.

SSUSA: Copper Harbor

SSUSA: Copper Harbor

Moots and Colorado Experience:  Rocky Mountain N.P. This was surreal and serene. We went the the highest lake, way up there.

Moots and Colorado Experience: Rocky Mountain N.P. This was surreal and serene. We went to the highest lake, way up there.

Moots / Colorado: The riding was so good. I need more of that in my life. ASAP.

Moots / Colorado: The riding was so good. I need more of that in my life. ASAP.

Moots / Colorado: This picture always reminds me how much non stop fun we had. So many stories.

Moots / Colorado: This picture always reminds me how much non stop fun we had. So many stories.

Moots / Colorado: Speechless

Moots / Colorado: Speechless

Cyclocross: I raced the majority of our local CX series this last fall, and had a ton of fun. It stretched me in ways I haven't been before.

Cyclocross: I raced the majority of our local CX series this last fall, and had a ton of fun. It stretched me in ways I haven’t been before.

Cyclocross: I accidentally won a race.

Cyclocross: I accidentally won a race.

Georgia: I closed out my year with the holiday trip to the in-laws in Georgia, where I got some relaxed road miles in.  Always a chill, lazy time.

Georgia: I closed out my year with the holiday trip to the in-laws in Georgia, where I got some relaxed road miles in. Always a chill, lazy time.

I don’t know if it’s possible to outdo that year, but I am going to try my best. I have to keep exploring.

Leave a Reply

