Mason Dixon Madness

Every winter Liz and I go down to LaGrange Georgia to visit her family for the holidays. It’s pretty convenient that we visit in the winter and they live in the warm south, so I take at least one bike, usually two.

DSCN1896

If everything I owned burned in a fire and I had to buy all new bikes, a Ti Warbird and El Mariachi would be the answer.
These bikes are perfect.

After driving from 6pm-10am through the night I took day one off the bike and slept in and relaxed.

The following three days I got some great riding in with weather that let me wear a short sleeve jersey and short sleeve base layer. Magical for a No-ILL resident like myself in November.

I ended up driving to ride single track 2/3 days, and riding the Warbird  to explore some hilly pavement the middle day.

All you need to know is Coldwater Mountain in Anniston Alabama is the real deal. There are 20-ish amazing miles of trail there, and I am going to ride them every chance I get. I rode every mile of trail there and had the biggest smile up and down each 3+ mile climb and downhill. There are berms all over, well made rock features, and mile after mile of tables and doubles to float as you fly downhill at 20+. Combine that with Racoon Mountain in Chattanooga and that area has some amazing trails worth checking out.   My pictures and the ones online don’t do anything justice, and I was surprised at how good the trails were when my wheel hit the ground.
DSCN1867 DSCN1876 DSCN1882 DSCN1890 DSCN1888 DSCN1886 DSCN1891 DSCN1892

Leave a Reply

